Somerset keeper Alex Barrow was praised for a fantastic display of sportsmanship at Trent Bridge today after informing the umpire that he had not taken the ball cleanly.
Barrow’s gesture gave Nottinghamshire’s James Taylor a reprieve and afterwards the England batsman was the first to pay tribute to Barrow for his honesty.
The Somerset keeper had dived to gather a leg-side chance offered by Taylor off the bowling of Tim Groenewald after the tea interval.
Umpire Tim Robinson upheld the Somerset appeal, but Barrow acknowledged that he had not taken the ball cleanly and the batsman was allowed to remain.
Barrow’s gesture was greeted by a round of applause from the Trent Bridge faithful, but Taylor was unable to cash in as he was bowled shortly afterwards by Groenewald for 45.
Afterwards, a typically modest Barrow said: “I don’t think it’s anything to be talking to the media about. If you don’t think it’s out, you don’t think it’s out and that’s that.
“It’s nothing to write home about. I don’t think you should cheat and I find it weird that I’m applauded for it – if it’s not out, it’s not out.
“It slipped out and I picked it up on the half-volley. I didn’t realise he’d been given out until I saw Titch (Taylor) walking and I said that it’s not out.”
Taylor said: “I hit the ball and was caught down the leg side and fortunately the keeper dropped it, although the umpire thought he’d caught it. It was very good from the keeper – he acknowledged what he’d done. I thought he’d caught, so I was on the walk off but he was honest enough to say he’d dropped it, which was good of him.”