Former Somerset captains named by ECB as reserve umpires for 2015

ECBFormer Somerset captains Ian Blackwell and Mike Burns have been included on the ECB Umpire Reserve List for 2015.

Blackie is pleased to be on the list: “I’m absolutely delighted to be taking the next step in my umpiring career. It’s something that I have wanted to do since I finished playing.

“It’s been a tough couple of years trying to do as many games as possible and the reward has been getting on to the reserve list which is great. I really enjoyed the coaching I did at Somerset but umpiring was always something that I wanted to focus on”

Ian is now keen to make the full list: “You have to serve your time. The more games you do, the better understanding you have of all the laws and the game situations that can occur. Hopefully my experiences as a player will stand me in good stead. Hopefully after three or four years I will be looking to progress on to the full list.”

As well as coaching and media work with BBC Radio Somerset, Ian turned out as a player for Wembdon CC in the West of England Premier League during the 2014 season.

Mike Burns finds himself on the reserve list once again: “I’ve had three years on the reserve list now. It’s been a good learning curve and hopefully I am quite close to the full list now. It’s a very difficult job and you put a lot of pressure on yourself because you want to do your very best for the players who are out there in the middle. A decision can make or break a player’s day, a player’s season or even a player’s career so you have to make sure you get it right. All the guys on the two lists have worked really hard.”

Since he retired in 2005, Mike has worked extensively as a coach including time at the Academy.

ECB Full List 2015:

Rob Bailey, Neil Bainton, Paul Baldwin, Mark Benson, Martin Bodenham, Nick Cook, Nigel Cowley, Jeff Evans, Russell Evans, Steve Gale, Steve Garratt, Michael Gough, Ian Gould, Peter Hartley,

Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong, Graham Lloyd, Jeremy Lloyds, Neil Mallender, David Millns, Steve O’Shaughnessy, Tim Robinson, Martin Saggers, Alex Wharf.

ECB Reserve List 2015:

Ian Blackwell, Mike Burns, Ben Debenham, Tom Lungley, Paul Pollard, Billy Taylor, Russell Warren, Chris Watts.