Somerset’s Josh Davey named in Scotland squad for World T20 Qualifiers

Josh Davey who will make his first-team debut for Somerset tomorrow
Josh Davey has been named in Scotland’s squad for the World T20 Qualifiers.

Somerset all-rounder Josh Davey has been named in Cricket Scotland’s 15-man squad for the ICC WT20 Cup Qualifiers in July, which will be hosted in Scotland and Ireland.

Davey has also been included in the squad for the warm-up games against Ireland in Bready.

The 24-year-old was one of the leading wicket takers in the group stages of the recent ICC World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. He finished with 15 wickets, including returns of 4-68 against England, 3-40 against hosts New Zealand and 3-68 against Sri Lanka.

On his return to the UK, Davey has mainly played Second XI cricket for Somerset, putting in some excellent performances with bat and ball. He did however appear make his first-team debut for the county in the first-class tour game against New Zealand in early May in which he removed both of the tourists’ opening batsmen.

Since then an injury has kept him out of Scotland’s recent drawn InterContinental tie with Afghanistan in Stirling.

Josh Davey hit 63 for Somerset Seconds in their T20 game against Worcestershire and followed it with 57* against Devon Lions. Photograph by Alexander Davidson
Josh Davey made his first-team debut for Somerset against the touring New Zealanders at Taunton last month. Photograph by Alexander Davidson

Speaking about the squad for the World T20 Qualifiers today, Scotland Head Coach Grant Bradburn commented, “It is so encouraging for Scotland to announce such a well-balanced, dynamic and strong T20 selection.

“There is an exciting blend of dynamic skills throughout the squad, while as a team we have a simple goal of winning the T20 Qualifiers. As a group we are all excited to be the host nation with a great opportunity to showcase our skills at home in this format.”

ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers:

Preston Mommsen (Captain), Matthew Cross (vc), Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

T20 squad Ireland Fixtures (18/19/21 June)

Preston Mommsen (Captain), Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Con de Lange *,  Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

*Will play first and second games only