Woodman to lead Devon against Somerset Second XI on Sunday

WoodmanFormer Somerset batsman Rob Woodman (left) will lead Devon in a friendly encounter with Somerset Second XI at Heathcoat this coming Sunday (12 April), starting at 11am.

Devon are hoping for better luck with the weather after their match against Gloucestershire 2nd XI at Plymouth last Saturday was called off due to a waterlogged pitch.

Devon only have two games to tune their side for the start of the Unicorns Knockout Cup campaign against Wales at North Devon on April 25 – so the last thing they want is another washout.

The pressure will be on Devon from the start as holders, more so as they have to rebuild the squad following a clutch of departures since the end of last summer.

Cup winners Josh Bess, who was the captain, James Burke, Scott Barlow, Gary Chappell and Jamie Overton won’t feature in the opening game.

Devon have named 14 for Sunday’s encounter with Somerset Second XI and will nominate 11 batsmen from the squad. Bowlers and fielders will be rotated on and off, which is standard practice in many 2nd XI fixtures.

The game is the first in charge for Devon’s new one-day captain and opener Rob Woodman.

Woodman will lead Devon in one-day cricket this year, with Matt Thompson skippering the three-day side in Minor Counties Championship fixtures.

Somerset Second XI have two friendlies of their own before their meeting with Devon next Sunday. First they play Exeter University tomorrow (Tuesday) and then have a two-day game at Taunton Vale against Gloucestershire, starting on Wednesday.

Their three-day Second XI Championship gets underway with a match against Hampshire at Taunton Vale, starting next week (April 13).

Devon’s side for their game against Somerset Second XI on Sunday: R J Woodman (Taunton Deane), L J Lewis (Sidmouth), M H Curtis (North Devon0, M W Thompson (Torquay), M C Golding (Bovey Tracey), S J Smith (Heathcoat), B G Huxtable (North Devon), J V King (North Devon), J R Popham (North Devon), C L Miles (Sidmouth), M J L Kidd (Swindon), J A Stephens (Tavistock), S S Stein, D J Goodey (both Plymouth).